Steam is a highly popular platform to purchase and download games digitally. It is widely used around all parts of the world with most users feeling satisfied with the experience. Although many like the service, sometimes it is necessary to delete an account. If you for any reason need to get rid of your account, there is a certain process that must be followed to delete steam account:
DELETING YOUR STEAM ACCOUNT
1. When you register for the account, it should be noted that the company does allow account deletion as stated in their account service agreements. Though it is possible, you cannot delete the account by yourself. There is no option for an individual to remove their own account. Instead, send a ticket to Steam Support asking them to delete the unwanted account.
2. Steam Support will ask for proof of account ownership before proceeding in the process of permanent deletion. This proof can come in many different forms, such as CD key codes from purchased games, secret account information, payment details, or other such information that is not easily acquired by outside sources.
3. Once you have confirmed your ownership of the account, Steam Support will be able to delete steam account in your name.
NOTE: It’s very important to know that when your account is deleted you will lose all games purchased through that username. You will be unable to retrieve these games, meaning if you spent any money with the account it will be lost without refund. There is no money refunded for any games lost when your account is deleted. For this reason many users opt to let their accounts remain dormant without logging into them, rather than asking the Steam Support to delete the account. Although it’s frustrating to be unable to delete your account without the help of the support team, it is said to be a measure in place to prevent the accidental or purposeful loss of games.
RETRIEVING YOUR DELETED STEAM ACCOUNT
After you have completed the process to have your account deleted by Steam Support, there is no way to reverse the process. Even if you later wish to reactivate or retrieve the account, you will be unable to do so. You will be notified when deleting the account that it is an irreversible process. All games on your account will be lost. No money will be refunded to you for your lost games, nor will you be able to re-download the games for free if you make a new account. This is one reason it is not advisable to delete steam account unless absolutely necessary. If you have an account without any purchased games, you may have your account automatically deleted after a certain amount of time being inactive as a way to keep the user base free of spam accounts or unused accounts.
NOTE: Retrieving your account is possible if you have merely lost the account information. If you are unable to remember the password, email, or other login info you will be able to gain access to your account again easily by providing some proof of ownership. This is not related to the account deletion process, as a lost account is treated very differently.